The Best Garlic Spread

When our daughter was born in May I was overwhelmed by the support and food that people showered upon us. Between all the casseroles, salads, brownies, and snacks that showed up at our front door I don’t think I had to cook the first two weeks of C’s life. All of the food was amazing but there was one tin-foil wrapped package that I’ll always remember. Liz, a co-worker, brought over lasagna and focaccia that she had cut in half horizontally, smeared with garlic spread, and then sandwiched back together. I threw the whole package of bread in the oven to warm up and then my husband and I devoured it.

This is it, folks. This, out of all of the other food that was in my house at the time is what I dug out of the fridge at midnight (or 1 am, or 3 am), after getting up with C. I’m not ashamed to say that I ate the majority of the garlic bread myself, but I am ashamed to admit that it took me this long to beg Liz for the recipe. 5 months! Don’t deprive yourself like I did. This stuff is really incredible.

I baked some no-knead bread this afternoon and as the loaf was cooling this spread is the only thing I could think about. It comes together really quickly, and I’d bet that any well-stocked kitchen has all of the ingredients. Lemon pepper is the only ingredient that I was worried I wouldn’t have, but there was a lonely jar tucked in the back corner of my cupboard. Finally I have a consistent use for the stuff, and I guarantee I’ll be going through it quickly.

garlicbread

The Best Garlic Spread
1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
3 large cloves garlic, minced
2 T mayo
3 T grated parmesan
1 t parsley
1 t basil
1/4 t oregano
1/2 t lemon pepper

Beat together all ingredients in a small bowl until combined. Suggested use: cut a loaf of Italian bread into one inch slices, spread with the garlic-butter mixture, and bake in a 375 degree oven until the edges are browned–about 10 or 12 minutes.

The recipe warns: “Don’t leave out the lemon pepper seasoning. It’s exactly what the recipe needs,” and it’s right. Please don’t leave it out. If you don’t have any hiding in your spice cabinet go buy some. You really do need it for this. This recipe came from Liz’s mom and it looks like it was cut out of a magazine or newspaper. I’m sorry that I don’t know the original source, but I do have two handwritten notes from her mom. She calls it “wonderful”–which it is, and also notes that it keeps in the refrigerator. I’ll be sure to use that information to my benefit!

garlicbread2

Liz confessed to me in a hushed whisper that her family keeps this in the fridge at all times and uses it on practically everything–including hamburgers! Yum. I have to confess that I licked the beaters.

Leave a Reply

