Red Velvet Cheesecake

I made and served red velvet cheesecake for my dad’s birthday. Red velvet is one of his favorite cakes and this is such a great spin on it. I hadn’t made a cheesecake in years and was very pleased with how it turned out. I found this recipe at Annie’s Eats a few months ago and bookmarked it, knowing that I would want to make it for a special occasion. Although I’ve had a lot of opportunities to make a dessert I’ve kept the knowledge of this recipe my little secret until this weekend.

The cheesecake came together very easily during a nap time for the wee one and everyone loved it. It’s definitely something I’ll make again!

rvcheesecake

Red Velvet Cheesecake
From Annie’s Eats

This is best made a day ahead of when you need it. It can chill in the refrigerator overnight and you can make the topping before serving. You will bake this at 350 for an hour and 15 minutes, or until just set in the center.

Start by lining the bottom of a 9-inch springform pan with parchment paper. Then make the crust by combining the following until just moistened and press evenly into the pan.

Crust:
25 oreo cookies, frosting removed, crushed (I went this route so we’d have half a package of oreo cookies in the house. You can buy the pre-crushed ones and use 1 1/2 cups of them.)
1/3 cup melted butter
1 T sugar

Filling:
3 (8 oz.) packages of cream cheese, brought to room temperature
1 1/2 cups sugar
4 large eggs
3 T cocoa powder
1 cup sour cream
1/2 cup buttermilk
2 t vanilla
1 t distilled white vinegar
2 (1 oz bottles) of red food coloring

Beat together the cream cheese and sugar until creamy and fully combined. I still had my mom’s stand mixer on loan for making the tamales, but this can be done in a bowl with a hand mixer. Just wear an apron when you get to the red food coloring. Add the eggs, cocoa powder, sour cream, buttermilk, vanilla, white vinegar, and food coloring. Mix on low until combined and pour into your springform pan.

A note about buttermilk: I rarely ever have it in the house. Instead I make my own substitute by mixing a tablespoon of white vinegar or lemon juice with a scant cup of milk. Stir and let sit for five minutes and voila, buttermilk. I was a little wary of using this substitute in my cheesecake, but I did and it turned out beautifully.

Bake as directed above, then remove the cheesecake to a wire rack to cool for 30 minutes before running a clean knife around the edge of it to separate it from the springform pan. Cover and let it chill out in the refrigerator.

Topping:
4 oz cream cheese, brought to room temperature
2 T butter, brought to room temperature
1 cup powdered sugar
1/2 t vanilla

Beat together the cream cheese and butter until smooth. Gradually add the powdered sugar and vanilla and beat until smooth. Remove the sides of the springform pan and spread the topping evenly over the top of the cheesecake.

rvcheesecake2

Check out how red that is! Don’t be like me and take so long to make this recipe. Go find a reason to celebrate and enjoy it!

One response to “Red Velvet Cheesecake

  1. Oh Lesley, I wish you had just made it and not posted it. šŸ˜‰ It looks SO good! I’m a fan of Annie too.

Leave a Reply

