Cheesy Bacon Ranch Potatoes

Confession time: I’m so tired! For some reason our baby girl has decided to shorten her naps to 30 minutes. This leaves me in a flurry of activity during that blessed quiet half an hour to get house chores taken care of, and I think she’s started teething. Maybe if she had some bacon to chew on she wouldn’t be so grumpy. I decided a few days ago that we needed bacon in our lives so today I started frying some to put on sandwiches and eat in potatoes. And you know what? It took and hour and a half to fry it up because of a certain grumpy cutie, but you’re welcome, because this is delicious.

I’m sorry in advance if you’re in the “tired of bacon” crowd. I know that bacon cupcakes, donuts, and chocolate covered bacon can be a little tiring, but this recipe is anything but boring. It’s not deep-fried, it’s not on a dessert and it’s not on a stick. In other words, this is exactly how God and Texas meant bacon to be enjoyed.

My dad is from a small town in Texas, and that’s where this recipe originated. Mom told me that it’s from a caterer there but couldn’t remember who it was. So, if you’re out there, thank you. Here’s my version of their delicious potatoes and hopefully they wouldn’t think that I ruined the recipe too much.

DSC_0061

Cheesy Bacon Ranch Potatoes

2 cans whole potatoes
8 oz block cheddar cheese
1/3-1/4 cup ranch
6 strips of bacon, crunchy and chopped up

Please don’t hesitate to double or triple this recipe–just adjust the amounts of all ingredients. Also, I know that it may sound odd, but fresh cooked potatoes don’t hold up as well or taste as good as canned in this recipe. So don’t feel bad about taking the easy way out. Regarding the bacon: if you don’t have the time or ambition of frying it up fresh (one and a half hours!) it’s perfectly ok to use the precooked bacon pieces that you can find in the store. This is an easy recipe, so don’t over think it.

Cut your potatoes into coins and season them with salt and pepper. Add the ranch and stir to evenly coat the potatoes. Mix in about half of your freshly shredded cheese to get the best cheese to potato ratio possible. Pour the potatoes into a baking dish (I like to use a pie plate when using just two cans of potatoes) and top with the rest of your cheese and chopped bacon. You can store this in the fridge if you’re a prepared person who has things done before they’re needed or you can go ahead and bake it at 350 for about 20 minutes, or until the cheese is nice and melty.

I think that technically these potatoes are considered a side dish. Don’t let that stop you from piling a bowl or plate full of these babies and eating them as your main course. Or, you know, as your one course. Pop open a cold beer and you’ve got a great dinner. Or lunch. Probably not breakfast though, unless you swap the beer for a mimosa. It still would be quite tasty.

DSC_0060

They say that everything is bigger in Texas. I say that everything is more delicious.

4 responses to “Cheesy Bacon Ranch Potatoes

  1. Laughing out loud all the way through your post! 🙂 I haven’t thought about canned potatoes in years. I bet they really do the trick in this recipe – wouldn’t suck up all the good stuff and get dry. I like the idea!

    • Thanks! I know that I sometimes fight the idea of using canned products (or anything pre-made) because I like knowing exactly what’s in my food and knowing that I made it from scratch. But in this case, as in my others, it makes life so much easier!

  2. I was attracted to this recipe because it didn’t contain sour cream, which was an ingredient I didn’t have one night, and I was desperate to make cheesy potatoes. I just wanted to say that my husband’s picky friend came over and told me that they were the “best cheesy potatoes” he had ever had, and that he was a “cheesy potato snob.” I also thought they were the best cheesy potatoes also. Thanks so much!!

Leave a Reply

