Zucchini Crab Cakes with Spicy & Easy Remoulade

Yesterday I helped my parents out by going to their garden in the morning to do some picking for them. Beets! Onions! Zucchini! Beans (pole and bush)! Yellow squash! I was very happy to help them and even happier to bring some of the veggies back home with me. The only really painful part of it (and I’m not talking “ow, the zucchini/yellow squash plant has little pokey things all over it and I wasn’t thinking and brushed it and now my arms feel like there are little ants nibbling on them–no, I mean ow, I don’t want to get out of bed because my baby is 12 weeks old and I haven’t worked out or really exercised since before she was born because of morning sickness and exhaustion) was that my sweet girl came with me and I wore her in my ergo while I picked. Fine. Dandy. But now my thighs are killing me from doing an unheard-of number of squats in the garden while she was happily snoozing and strapped on my front. Getting out of bed this morning (and last night, a few times) was not my finest moment.

If your garden is anything like my dad’s then you are completely overrun and overwhelmed with zucchini. There’s only so much zucchini bread I can eat each summer and I’ve about filled up on it. I can eat it grilled all day long but even doing that won’t really put a dent in the pile of it on my kitchen counter. Impressive. I remember my mom making zucchini “crab” cakes in the summer when I was younger, and although they don’t have any crab in them they really taste delicious and hit the spot, especially on a hot summer afternoon. This recipe won’t use up a bunch of zucchini but it’s a refreshing twist on what can be a very tiring vegetable.

z cakes

I always make this super easy and delicious remoulade first and let it chill out in the fridge while I make the cakes. This helps the flavors come together better. Or so I’ve heard. I’m guilty of being kinda last minute sometimes. Don’t judge.

Spicy, Easy Remoulade
1/4 cup mayo
1 t spicy mustard
1 t sweet relish
3/4 t worcestershire
squeeze of lemon
a few shakes of hot sauce–this is where you can get daring and really give the remoulade a bite! I use Cholula hot sauce. Yum!

Mix all of your ingredients in a bowl, making sure to taste it to make sure it’s to your liking. Sometimes I add a few more shakes of worcestershire. It’s all depending on my mood. Cover it and let it sit in your fridge while you make your cakes.

z cakes 2

Zucchini Crab Cakes
*adapted from Parade magazine
2 cups shredded zucchini
salt
1 cup italian style bread crumbs
1 beaten egg
1 1/2 t Old Bay seasoning
1 t spicy or dijon mustard
1 T mayo
1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley

Sprinkle salt on the zucchini and allow to drain for about 30 minutes. Go put your feet up. Or, if you’re like me, let the dogs out, throw in some laundry, and change a diaper. If you’re like me just make sure to wash your hands before continuing. Squeeze out eh excess liquid from your zucchini and mix it together with all of your other ingredients. Form into patties (I usually get four) and refrigerate for about 15 minutes.

Once they’ve chilled out enough to hold their shape fry them in butter/olive oil until golden. Top them with remoulade or throw them on a bun with some remoulade and tomato. I don’t care how you do it, just make them!

z cakes 3

Congratulations, you’ve used up a few of your zucchini! Now what should we do with the other 57?

Leave a Reply

