Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

My college roommate and I used to make a huge batch of this cookie dough, stick it in the freezer, and bake a few cookies at a time to make the dough last as long as possible (and to limit our cookie consumption). This was a really special treat when we’d get home in the middle of the night or wee hours of the morning from getting off work. I believe that there’s thing like fresh cookies to make a long day better. My self-control has not come a long way since then and so I make these cookies only for special occasions and not just to have around the house. This recipe makes a ton of them!

DSC_0058

Yesterday I had the great misfortune of getting my finger caught in an immersion blender as I was cleaning it. I had forgotten to turn it off and for some reason I hit the on button with my left hand as my right pointer finger was in the blades. One frantic phone call to a good friend to come watch our daughter, an emergency trip to the best hand doc in town, and a few hours later I had my finger back. I’m really lucky.

So I’m baking these cookies today, (with more difficulty than usual because of having the use of one fewer finger than usual), and I will deliver them as a grateful thanks to our friend and our doctor. But remember how I said that this will make a ton of cookies? The rest will go in the freezer (and they freeze wonderfully!) to pull out for our daughter’s baptism. And who knows? I might have a few in the middle of the night for old time’s sake.

DSC_0054

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Bake at 375 for 10-12 minutes. I don’t like mine super crunchy, so I always err on the side of soft in the middle. It’s just better like that.

3 c brown sugar
2 c sugar
1 pound butter
1 t vanilla
4 eggs
1 t salt
2 t baking powder
1 t baking soda
3 1/2 cups oatmeal
4 cups flour
2 bags chocolate chips

Cream together the sugars, butter, vanilla, and eggs. Then add the remaining ingredients. Spoon onto cookie sheets and bake.

The coolest thing about this recipe is how you can adapt it to your personal tastes. I’m a chocolate purist, but my dad loves this with raisins. You could also add your favorite nuts. In fact, go crazy–maybe swap white chocolate chips in or some butterscotch. It’s a very forgiving recipe.

DSC_0063

Make these for someone you love but be sure to save some for yourself. You can’t go wrong with a pound of butter.

2 responses to “Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Glad you saved your finger! I am my body’s worst enemy in the kitchen. 😦

    With baking powder in this recipe, I’m surprised your cookies don’t puff up more. They have that somewhat raggedy look of the Levain bakery cookies, which is my ultimate goal to achieve. 🙂 They look so darned good I’m going to have to give your recipe a try!

    • Thanks! I’m the same way in my kitchen. It’s my favorite place in the house but also the most dangerous!

      When you scoop the cookie dough and put it on the baking sheets just give each little ball of dough a little pat. I like to smush them down a bit–they won’t puff up a ton without doing it but I find that it helps keep them a little thinner. Let me know what you think if you try them! They’re my favorite.

Leave a Reply

