Crispy Kale Chips

Last summer was the first time that my husband and I attempted to have a garden in our yard. It failed miserably and later our neighbors told us that none of them have ever been able to grow anything worthwhile. Challenge accepted. Fast-forward to the winter and my extreme excitement when seed catalogues came out. I may have gotten a little overzealous with what I wanted to plant. When spring rolled around and it was time to start planting I had the brilliant idea that we needed a raised garden bed. We spent a Saturday afternoon putting on in and have had an explosion of rhubarb, tomatoes, herbs, peppers, carrots, and kale.

Before this summer I’d eaten kale once. I liked it even though it had a grassy aftertaste that took a little getting used to. But–it was so green! And frilly! And pretty!

kale

And, as we found out, it was easy to grow. This was very exciting at first. As it kept growing (!) it became a little overwhelming. What to do with all of it?

I’m not ashamed to admit that I’m late to join the kale bandwagon, specifically kale chips. I’d seen this idea floating around for a while and been very skeptical but I finally tried it one day after telling my husband that I would for about a week. It’s ridiculously simple: all you need is fresh kale, olive oil, and salt. You could spice it up, I guess, but one of the things I like best about this recipe is the simplicity of it. It’s quick and easy, unlike most things in life.

kale chips ingredients

Kale chips

Bake at 375 for about 10 minutes, until kale is crispy with the edges starting to brown.

Wash and dry your kale–a salad spinner would be very useful for this, but I don’t have one, and just patting it dry with a towel worked fine. Tear the kale into bite-sized pieces and put it on a parchment lined baking sheet. Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle salt on the kale. Now is not the time to skimp on the good stuff! Don’t be shy! Break out the good olive oil and sea salt. You’ll thank me later. Bake until the kale is crispy but not burned. This is perfect still warm from the oven but is equally as delicious after sitting out on the counter all afternoon. It’s a win-win.

kale chips

The chips may not be very pretty but that doesn’t matter when they’re this delicious.

Leave a Reply

