German Chocolate Chip Cookies

Back before I quit my job as a banker and took the plunge as a preschool teacher my mom and I had a standing date every Friday at lunch. It was so nice to take a break at the end of the work week and spend some time with her. We quickly found our favorite restaurants and would frequent them often. Our favorite one in our town was (and still is!) a small cafe called The Pampered Palate. Besides having delicious sandwiches and salads, they have some awesome cookies. The best was their german chocolate chip cookie and we’d each get one every time we went there for lunch. They’d heat them on a plate, put whipped cream on them, and drizzle them with chocolate syrup.

stack o' cookies

One Friday we went in and were told that they were no longer about to get the dough from their supplier for their german chocolate chip cookies. My mom and I spent that weekend working on creating and perfecting a recipe so that we could enjoy them at home ourselves!

These cookies have a bunch of chocolate chips, pecans, and sweetened flaked coconut in them.  They’re my favorite straight out of the oven while they’re hot and gooey. My husband will eat them any way he can get them.

choc, pecans, coconut

German Chocolate Chip Cookies

Bake at 350 for 10-12 minutes, you’ll get around 4 dozen cookies.

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup cocoa
1 t baking soda
1 t salt
1 cup unsalted butter
1/2 cup white sugar
1 cup packed brown sugar
1 t vanilla extract
2 eggs
2 cups milk chocolate chips
1 cup chopped pecans
1 cup sweetened flaked coconut

Cream together the butter, sugars, eggs, and vanilla. Stir in the flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt, making sure that everything is fully incorporated. Finally mix in the chocolate chips, pecans, and coconut.

These are fabulous with a glass of milk.

cookie + milk

No matter what your plans are this weekend, you need to make these. Make them for your Fourth of July party! Do it for your country.

6 responses to “German Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. These cookies sound great! I’ve been craving something chocolatey and these fit the bill perfectly.

  2. I love your stories. This just makes me wish I lived in the same town as my daughter. 😦

    The line about how your husband takes these any way he can get them has convinced me I need to make them for a treat for hubby tonight. And of course I still want to make your oatmeal chocolate chip cookies. So many recipes, not enough time (or room in my elastic-waisted pants!)

  3. OMG I made them and they are insanely good! Going to blog about them and give you & your Mom some well-deserved props. 🙂

    • Oh gosh, I’m so glad you liked them so much! We love coming up with new recipes together. I know I’m lucky to live to close to her. Thanks for trying the recipe!

  4. These were one of the best chocolate cookies I have ever tasted! I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out great. I dropped by teaspoonfuls, using the two spoon method – I got exactly 4 dozen. I used non-stick aluminum foil to line pans – there was no need to use it, though, since I did use a regular aluminum baking sheet for one dozen and the did not stick at all. Thanks fort the great recipe.

Leave a Reply

